![]() |
|
![]() |
#1 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
|
Capitals and accents
Hi,
I work in 'iso-8859-1' encoding. Is it possible to configure a 'match case' option ? For instance I search for "Truck" ... I only find "Truck" pages and not "truck". I have the same question for accents. Thank you for your answer. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Untested, so do a backup, and try running the following query:
Code:
ALTER TABLE keywords MODIFY keyword VARCHAR(64) BINARY;
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
|
That might be a part of the problem...
but the thing might also come from indexing because the keywords stored in mysql don't contain any capital or accent. What do you propose for indexing with keeping accents and capitals ? Thanx |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Try the following in the config file and do a test index:
Code:
define('PHPDIG_ENCODING','iso-8859-1'); $phpdig_string_subst['iso-8859-1'] = 'Q:Q,q:q'; $phpdig_words_chars['iso-8859-1'] = '[:alnum:]ÀÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈÉÊËÌÍÎÏÐÑÒÓÔÕÖרÙÚÛÜÝÞß*áâãäåæçèéêëì*îïðñòóôõö÷øùúûüýþÿµ'; Code:
cp037 cp856 cp875 iso-8859-4 symbol windows-1257 cp1006 cp857 gsm0338 iso-8859-5 turkish windows-1258 cp1026 cp860 iso-8859-1 iso-8859-6 us-ascii x-mac-ce cp424 cp861 iso-8859-10 iso-8859-7 us-ascii-quotes x-mac-cyrillic cp437 cp862 iso-8859-11 iso-8859-8 windows-1250 x-mac-greek cp500 cp863 iso-8859-13 iso-8859-9 windows-1251 x-mac-icelandic cp737 cp864 iso-8859-14 koi8-r windows-1252 x-mac-roman cp775 cp865 iso-8859-15 koi8-u windows-1253 zdingbat cp850 cp866 iso-8859-16 mazovia windows-1254 cp852 cp869 iso-8859-2 nextstep windows-1255 cp855 cp874 iso-8859-3 stdenc windows-1256 ucs-4 utf-16le byte2be euc-tw ucs-4be utf-7 byte2le cp950 ucs-4le utf7-imap byte4be big-5 ucs-2 utf-8 byte4le euc-kr ucs-2be ascii base64 uhc ucs-2le euc-jp html-entities iso-2022-kr utf-32 sjis 7bit utf-32be eucjp-win 8bit utf-32le sjis-win euc-cn utf-16 iso-2022-jp cp936 utf-16be jis hz
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
|
Thanx for your reply.
I tried reindexing with these new params : - it works with accents - it doesn't work with capitals... Any idea ? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Try the following query:
Code:
ALTER TABLE keywords MODIFY keyword VARCHAR(64) BINARY;
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
One other thing...
In phpdig_functions.php, in the phpdigEpureText function, find: Code:
$text = phpdigStripAccents(strtolower ($text)); //no-latin upper to lowercase - now islandic switch (PHPDIG_ENCODING) { case 'iso-8859-1': $text = strtr( $text,'ÐÞ','ðþ'); break; } Code:
$text = phpdigStripAccents($text); //no-latin upper to lowercase - now islandic /* switch (PHPDIG_ENCODING) { case 'iso-8859-1': $text = strtr( $text,'ÐÞ','ðþ'); break; } */
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
|
Thanks for all.
It works fine now, did'nt need to change eregi... Why modify the type of 'keyword' field into 'binary' ? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Binary is for case sensitivity: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/case-sensitivity.html
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
![]() |
![]() |