PDA

View Full Version : indexing with pauses


shinji
01-30-2004, 06:03 AM
Hi,

is it possible to um... like say 'pause' the indexing process?
as example i run the spider.php per cron...
it should start then, and phpdig stops the process after as example 4 hours and if i run the cron again it should restart at the page it stopped

thx charter for your wasted time ;)

Charter
01-30-2004, 01:07 PM
Hi. If PhpDig is stopped prematurely, there may be info left in the tempspider table, and this info should be picked up in the next index cycle.

shinji
01-31-2004, 03:09 AM
and.. can someone tell me how i can stop the spider.php after a certain time or when it's *?

Charter
02-05-2004, 07:26 AM
Hi. Not sure of your OS but you might try this (http://www.ma.utexas.edu/cgi-bin/man-cgi?kill+1) command.

shinji
02-05-2004, 01:50 PM
ok stop/continue works perfect ^^ (debian)

but how can i make a cron using it while the php process have an dynamic pid?
(i dont need to entirely kill the spider then and it can run as would nothing happen to it ):D

Charter
02-05-2004, 03:46 PM
Hi. You might find this (http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.getmypid.php) function useful.