PDA

View Full Version : Problem restricting search results


Grenville Hamly
10-06-2004, 05:20 AM
I am having a problem offering a drop-down menu to restrict the search results to specific directories (and subdirectories) of the following website:

www.curzonholdings.co.uk

The results currently remain the same irrespective of the selection on the drop down.

I have followed instructions found elsewhere on the forum, but I must be missing somthing.

vinyl-junkie
10-06-2004, 06:04 PM
Welcome to the forum, Grenville Hamly. We're glad you could join us! :D

Please tell us exactly what you've done so far. Then we can go from there to try and guide you to where you want to be.

Grenville Hamly
10-08-2004, 03:11 AM
I am attempting to use the "path" variable to restrict the serch results to a specific directory on the website. However this does not seem to restrict the results.

This is the code in my webpages:

<form action='http://www.curzonholdings.co.uk/phpdig/search.php' method='get'>
<tr>
<td valign="top"><img src="images/vertical_divider_main.gif" alt="Vertical Divider" name="vertical_divider" width="16" height="35" border="0" id="vertical_divider" title="Vertical Divider" /></td>
<td valign="bottom">
<input type='hidden' name='refine' value='2'/> <input type='hidden' name='site' value='1'/>
<input type='hidden' name='result_page' value='search.php'/>
<input name='query_string' type="text" id="query_string" style="font-family:Verdana; font-size:11px; height:18px; width:120px; margin-right: 5px" onfocus="if(this.value==this.defaultValue)this.value=''" value="Search" />
</td>
<td valign="bottom">

<select name="path" id="path">
<option selected='selected' value=''>All of Curzon </option>
<option value='curzon_interiors/%'>Curzon Interiors </option>
<option value='tcl_granby/%'>TCL Granby </option>
<option value='task_systems/%'>Task Systems</option>
<option value='strategic_mm/%'>Strategic MM</option>
</select>
</td>
<td valign="bottom">
<input type='image' name='search' value='Go' src="images/buttons/go.gif" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('search','','images/buttons/go_over.gif',1)" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" alt="Search button" width="31" height="19" border="0" id="search" style="margin-left: 5px" title="Search button"/>
</td>
</tr>
</form>

The site is currently up and running but it won't be long before my client spots this failing: www.curzoninteriors.co.uk

Hope you can help.

Grenville Hamly
10-14-2004, 12:32 AM
Anybody got an idea on this? I'm tearing my hair out.

I have also noticed that the url generated for the search often includes some hex-type elements eg:

http://www.curzonholdings.co.uk/phpdig/search.php?
refine=2&site=1&result_page=search.php&query_string=word&path=curzon_interiors%2F%25&search.x=7&search.y=8

Not sure if this is relevant.

Hope someone can help me

vinyl-junkie
10-14-2004, 03:26 AM
Have you seen this thread (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/showthread.php?t=363)?

Grenville Hamly
10-14-2004, 04:18 AM
Yes, I have read through the thread.

And I am trying to achieve exactly the same result as laurentxav. The only difference that I can see is that I am allowing the path variable to be chosen by using a drop-down selection.

The path variable is included on the resulting link, but it dosn't seem to do anything (I have tried deleting it and it does not change the results in any way).

I am stumped, and would realy apprecaite any insights.

vinyl-junkie
10-14-2004, 05:19 PM
Have you read this (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/showthread.php?t=597&highlight=drop) and this (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/showthread.php?t=580)?