PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Bug Tracker

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2003, 12:07 AM   #1
Rolandks
Purple Mole
 
Rolandks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kassel, Germany
Posts: 119
Exclamation Bugs, and missing Features in V. 1.6.2

Okay, here are my Bugs which i found. (Testetd: W2K, IIS 5, PHP 4.3.1, MySQL 4.0.14, 2 URLs, 12 Subdirectory, 1450 Pages)

1.) BUG: CGI-Timeout in big Websites (major)

Desc.: In the current version the spider try to index the complete site. If you have NO root-server (webspace at provider) you can't change the CGI-timeout from the Webserver. Default in Apache and IIS
it is 300 Sec. But in 300 Seconds spider.php is NOT indexing > 100 Sites. so you get CGI-Timeout.
Solution: The spider.php must stop and start a new Session, before 300 Seconds because this is default in all Webservers with Save_mode.

One way is to call with $PHP_SELF and queries with LIMIT !
Code:
$Start = $_GET['Start'];
if($Start == "") {
     $Start = 0;
}
$End = $Start + 50;

// here are the queries ex.: ("SELECT * FROM tabelle LIMIT $Start,$End");

$Start += 50;
echo "<script>location.href(\"$_SERVER[PHP_SELF]?Start=$Start\")</script>";
Or perhpas there is a better solution, but i think it is major.


2.) Statistic Error and not show time (normal should be fix)
In Install.sql there is one field missing: ADD: "l_time" to init_db.sql

Change:
Code:
# Structure de la table 'logs'
CREATE TABLE logs (
  l_id mediumint(9) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  l_includes varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
  l_excludes varchar(127) default NULL,
  l_num mediumint(9) default NULL,
  l_mode char(1) default NULL,
  l_ts timestamp(14) NOT NULL,  
  l_time timestamp(14) NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (l_id),
  UNIQUE KEY l_id (l_id),
  KEY l_includes (l_includes),
  KEY l_excludes (l_excludes)
);
But time update in this field also not work after this update ? -- "l_time" is always empty: 000000000.


3.) Special Character are not show in Statistic - DB:Field l_includes AND l_excludes (minor)
If you have europe Characters as ISO-8859-1 (ä, ö, ü, ß, or Spain á é ) they are not display in Statistics Fields:
Table: logs Fields: l_includes AND l_excludes --> Search was: "münchen" display in Statistic is "munchen"

4.) Exclude Path before Dig an URL (Feature)
At the moment if you enter a new URL all Link-Paths are indexed, You can exclude Paths after the first index.
Feature: After press "Dig This URL" you first must get a list of all Sub-Directories, and you can exclude some, perhaps if you have 300 Pages-documentation in a subdir and will not index them. or press "Index ALL".

5.) Size and Maxlength not in config.php (minor Feature)
At the moment the "size" and "maxlength" of the Serach-Input Field can't be change.
Put these 2 fileds as variable in config.php. (they must set in: libs\function_phpdig_form.php ( Linie 47)

"<input type='text' class='phpdiginputtext' name='query_string' SIZE='$input_size' MAXLENGTH='$input_length' ....."

Nice, that PhpDig is continue
Thanks -Roland-

Last edited by Rolandks; 09-09-2003 at 02:18 PM.
Rolandks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 05:26 AM   #2
Iltud
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brest - France
Posts: 22
Hello,

In you second point about the column "l_time" :

The l_time column in logs table isn't TIMESTAMP.

According to the script /sql/update_db_to_1_6_1.sql, this column should be a FLOAT and not a TIMESTAMP as you said.

It's probably the reason why you always have "l_time" empty: 000000000.


/sql/update_db_to_1_6_1.sql said :

ALTER TABLE logs ADD l_time FLOAT DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL ;



Thanks,
Nicolas.
Iltud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 11:21 PM   #3
Rolandks
Purple Mole
 
Rolandks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kassel, Germany
Posts: 119
Okay, thanks. It was a wrong posting in the old english-Forum.

ALTER TABLE logs ADD l_time FLOAT DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL ;
Is right.

R.
Rolandks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 05:44 AM   #4
laurentxav
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Hello,

I want to know if the major BUG CGI-Timeout in big Websites already exists ?
I've read all history of changes made to PhpDig but no info about that.

I must crawl a site with more than 3000 files !! Is there any problem ?

Thanks,

Laurent
laurentxav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 07:01 AM   #5
Rolandks
Purple Mole
 
Rolandks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kassel, Germany
Posts: 119
CGI-Timeout only exist if you can't change the default setting at your webserver ! default php-script time-out is 300 seconds, but 3000 files need 1-2 hours, so if you don't have a root-server you can't do this.

-roland-
Rolandks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spidering error = theURL,winName,features ddowdall Troubleshooting 0 03-19-2006 07:28 AM
Indexing Help...I am missing something tscholle Troubleshooting 7 08-04-2005 09:20 PM
Ban features Slider How-to Forum 20 01-01-2005 04:12 PM
New Features Inquiry Charter Feedback & News 20 01-19-2004 07:10 PM
Version 1.6.3 and some bugs/ideas manfred Troubleshooting 6 11-17-2003 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.