PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Script Installation

Old 01-21-2004, 08:09 AM   #1
ekieke
Green Mole

Problems with installation

I'm a complete beginner, so I want to start by aplogizing for asking (or re-asking) questions that might seem completely obvious to many members. OK, with that out of the way, here's my problem:

I would like to use phpdig as the search engine for a site I'm creating, but I can't seem to get started. I've downloaded the file and unzipped it, but when I browse to install.php, I get the following error: "Unable to find connect.php file."

I've also tried to follow the instructions to do the manual installation, but after I enter the "#mysql phpdig < [PHPDIG_DIR]/sql/init_db.sql" command, I get the following error: "ERROR 1044: Access denied for user: '@localhost' to database 'phpdig'"

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
ekieke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 09:34 AM   #2
Charter
Head Mole

Hi. The code that produces the "Unable to find connect.php file" error is the following:
PHP Code:
if (is_file("$relative_script_path/includes/connect.php")) {
    include 
"$relative_script_path/includes/connect.php";
}
else {
    die(
"Unable to find connect.php file.\n");

Check that there is a connect.php file in the includes directory.

The second error you list is because no username/password has been passed in the command. Try the following instead:
Code:
mysql -u USERNAME -pPASSWORD DATABASE < FILENAME.sql
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 10:09 AM   #3
ekieke
Green Mole

Thanks for the quick response Charter.