PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > How-to Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2004, 12:08 PM   #1
Canadian
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 8
Indexing by command line...

I have alist of URLs to index contained in a text file. I would like to index them by command line. In reading the documentation I do not understand PHP well enough to know what "Launched by the shell" means. Is the command interface soemthing I launch in the browser or.... ??

Thanks for any insight on this.

Joel
Canadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 12:26 PM   #2
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. Command line basically means to use SSH/Telnet. If interested, there is a cron job tutorial here.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 03:07 PM   #3
Canadian
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 8
We are getting closer.... I have setup the Cronjob according to the tutorial... but i do not have shell access to the server

Any way to setup the cronjob to work on its own without needing shell access?
Canadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 05:43 PM   #4
Canadian
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 8
Ok I have changed my mind.... now I do have Shell Access (just got it setup). I am trying now to go back and follow what looks like a simple one line command in the documentation (section 8).

This is what i have been trying..... can you see any obvious errors (it does ntohing, no error code, just does nothing at all).....
#php -f /searchengine/admin/spider.php /searchengine/admin/SO_URLS.txt
Canadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 06:44 PM   #5
Canadian
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 8
Problem solved! Still have some of hair too..... for anyone interested..... when using SSH do not actually type the "#" prior to your commands...... and by the way now that I am using this system, indexing by command interface from textfile lists proves about twice as efficient if you are compiling your index from a paper list.
Canadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
command line indexing that actually works carlaron Troubleshooting 0 11-06-2006 08:48 PM
Command line vs. admin indexing wx3 Troubleshooting 8 09-08-2004 12:31 AM
Can I close Putty during command line indexing? Nosmada How-to Forum 7 01-23-2004 03:46 PM
indexing from command line with text file Wayne McBryde Troubleshooting 8 01-12-2004 05:56 PM
Indexing by command line interface Skop Troubleshooting 8 10-14-2003 02:23 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.