PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2004, 07:18 AM   #1
guskoul
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
search form sites

Hello to everyone.
I am a new user .
I just install 1.8.3 version and i have some questions.
1)First how can i have only the url of my site (www.taxheaven.gr) at the search form , and not all the folders.
At this time all my site folders appears at the search form .
2) When indexing my site sometimes it stops . I know that this could be because of deadlinks, but the question is how can i start indexing again from the point spider stops.
Don't tell me that i have to do that from the beggining.!!
3)Is there a file or a database table that shows after index ,the structure of the indexing links?
4.)Is there a possible way to not index meta keywords only?
For example i want to index only description and content of all my pages. Can i do that?

Thanks in advance
p.s. Sorry for my bad english
guskoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 09:44 AM   #2
vinyl-junkie
Purple Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 694
Re: search form sites

Quote:
Originally posted by guskoul
Hello to everyone.
I am a new user .
Welcome to the forum!
Quote:
I just install 1.8.3 version and i have some questions.
1)First how can i have only the url of my site (www.taxheaven.gr) at the search form , and not all the folders.
At this time all my site folders appears at the search form .
From the admin panel, highlight your site on the right-hand side, then click Update Form. Click the red X on any directory you want to exclude. Note: This will delete indexed entries!
Quote:
2) When indexing my site sometimes it stops . I know that this could be because of deadlinks, but the question is how can i start indexing again from the point spider stops.
Don't tell me that i have to do that from the beggining.!!
No, you don't have to start over. You do have to unlock the site first. See this thread if you don't know how to do that. From the admin panel, highlight your site, click on update form, then click on the green check mark to resume spidering.
Quote:
3)Is there a file or a database table that shows after index ,the structure of the indexing links?
I'm not sure what you're looking for. Is it a list of all the pages that were indexed?
Quote:
4.)Is there a possible way to not index meta keywords only?
For example i want to index only description and content of all my pages. Can i do that?
I don't believe those can be excluded from the index. However, you can set the search page so it doesn't display the meta description as follows:
PHP Code:
define('DISPLAY_SUMMARY',false); 
Quote:
Thanks in advance
p.s. Sorry for my bad english
Your English is fine!
vinyl-junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 11:18 AM   #3
guskoul
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Re: Re: search form sites

Thanks for all the answers.


Quote:
Originally posted by vinyl-junkie
Welcome to the forum!

From the admin panel, highlight your site on the right-hand side, then click Update Form. Click the red X on any directory you want to exclude. Note: This will delete indexed entries!
But what if i want to keep All the indexed entries and change only the search form.

Don't tell me that if choose from the drop down list www.taxheaven.gr , the search engine will only look at the entries of this url and not at all the site (included subfolders)
guskoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 11:28 AM   #4
vinyl-junkie
Purple Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 694
Well, the drop-down list is how you can restrict the search to certain directories or sites.

Are you asking how to customize the search form itself?
vinyl-junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 11:35 AM   #5
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi, set the following in the config file:
PHP Code:
define('DISPLAY_DROPDOWN',false); 
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 11:38 AM   #6
guskoul
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by vinyl-junkie
Well, the drop-down list is how you can restrict the search to certain directories or sites.

Are you asking how to customize the search form itself?
Yes Yes..
I want only the starting url to apears in the search form (www.mysite.gr)
guskoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 12:49 PM   #7
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Perhaps try the following in the config file...
PHP Code:
define('DISPLAY_DROPDOWN',true);
define('DROPDOWN_URLS',false); 
If you don't want the drop down, then set the following:
PHP Code:
define('DISPLAY_DROPDOWN',false); 
Another option is to mod the function_phpdig_form.php file.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 12:55 PM   #8
guskoul
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks it worked

By the way This is the best search script ever.
I have tried too many (50-60 scripts perl-php-java) and this is the best .
Good work
guskoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Search form Anton How-to Forum 0 11-15-2006 10:42 PM
search form 'remembering' previous search lukemack How-to Forum 0 12-16-2005 04:10 AM
Restricting search results by URL at the search form level innerfire How-to Forum 3 08-01-2005 08:36 AM
separting results and search form nicedream How-to Forum 2 12-08-2003 01:49 PM
Simple way of inserting a search form waytorussia How-to Forum 3 10-08-2003 05:23 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.