PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2003, 04:59 PM   #1
bthurlow
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 7
Question problems with command processing

Hey there I have a problem with command line processing for the spider. I have searched through the forum before i decided to post a message, but i had to because i found no solution to my problem.

My Setup
W2K, PHP 4.3.1x, Apache 1.3x

I have tried all kinds of different commands like to following:

php.exe -f myphpdigdir/spider.php http://www.mydomain.com

php.exe -f "myphpdigdir/spider.php" http://www.mydomain.com

php.exe -f "myphpdigdir/spider.php" mytextfiledir/mytextfile.txt

php.exe -f "myphpdigdir/spider.php mytextfiledir/mytextfile.txt"

None of them work. All it does is just reprocess everthing that is already in the database and does not add new URLs.

Please help if you can.

Thanks.
bthurlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 06:42 PM   #2
Rolandks
Purple Mole
 
Rolandks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kassel, Germany
Posts: 119
Hmm, it must work on your system. Does it work in browser ?

Try:
CALL from promt in C:\php:

php.exe -f "D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig\admin\spider.php" http://www.mydomain.com

-Roland-
Rolandks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 06:47 PM   #3
bthurlow
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 7
It works just fine from the browser. For some reason it refuses to do anything from the command line.

I have tried that call from the php dir. It just performs a respider_mode all on the exsisting sites in the database. It acts like it is not receiving the argument on the command line.

Not sure but still working with it. Let me know if you have any other ideas.
bthurlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 08:27 PM   #4
bthurlow
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 7
I found the problem. For Some reason my php will not pass the global variables.

I have temporarily solved the problem by creating a second spider to process my text file from a batch program until i get my php problem fixed.

I am currently archiving a web site that is extremely large. I will let you all know how it turns out performance wise.

Also, if you all don't mind, which i'm sure you don't I'm going to start working on the search engine for this program and see if i can get some more functionality out of it. I'll let you know how that goes. And keep you all posted on both items.

Have a good one.
bthurlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP form processing problem - Please advise NPeart1 Coding & Tutorials 0 01-18-2006 11:42 AM
Problems running command line remc Troubleshooting 2 03-15-2005 08:34 AM
spider from command line twanoo Troubleshooting 3 01-14-2005 10:04 AM
problems indexing command line vs. admin panel obottek Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2004 03:01 PM
Indexing by command line... Canadian How-to Forum 4 01-04-2004 06:44 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.