PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2004, 09:29 AM   #1
herberth
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Problems with Subdomains

I have a website with 2 languages (English and German).
They are divided into 2 directories:
http://www.minedition.com/english/
http://www.minedition.com/german/

So I want that on the english site there should only come english searchresults.
I have read in the forum of phpdig that there is a possibilty by creating subdomains.

I asked my provider to install these subdomains:
http://www.english.minedition.com/
(this is for the english section)

http://www.german.minedition.com/
(this is for the english section)

Unfortunately when I want to index the website http://www.english.minedition.com/
there comes this message:

SITE : http://www.english.minedition.com/
Exclude paths :
- @NONE@
1:http://www.english.minedition.com/
(time : 00:00:05)
+
level 1...
2:http://www.english.minedition.com/blank.html
(time : 00:00:15)

No link in temporary table
links found : 2
http://www.english.minedition.com/
http://www.english.minedition.com/blank.html
Optimizing tables...
Indexing complete !

The index.html has of course included the metatags for "index and follow".

Why does phpdig not index the website?

Thank you for helping.

Herbert Hofer
herberth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 11:44 AM   #2
vinyl-junkie
Purple Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 694
I took a look at your site, and I believe what you need to do is move all your English pages where they are under:

http://www.english.minedition.com/

rather than having them under:

http://www.minedition.com/english


Similarly, you would want to do the same thing for the German pages. What phpDig is looking for is pages underneath the high level domain name for each of these. It isn't finding any, which is why hardly anything is getting indexed.
vinyl-junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 11:06 PM   #3
herberth
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Problems with Subdomains

Thank you for your help.

Do you mean that I should create a directory with the name "www.english.minedition.com" and move all english files into this directory?

Best wishes.
Herbert
herberth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 07:38 AM   #4
vinyl-junkie
Purple Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 694
No. When your web host created the subdomain, they created a folder under which all those files should be moved. Check with them if you are unsure as to how they set it up.

Something else that I thought about after posting yesterday though. If your site is indexed with the search engines under the old sub-folder structure and you move them around like I suggested, you will probably want to setup some redirects from the old file locations to the new. That way, your site's visitors won't get a 404 when they try to access the pages through the old location.
vinyl-junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 01:26 AM   #5
herberth
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Dear Pat, thank you for your patience.

I try to declare it - I’m not a native speaker:-).

I have created 2 directories. All files are still in these directories.
http://www.minedition.com/english/
http://www.minedition.com/german/

Then I told my web host that he should create these subdomains:
http://www.minedition.com/english/
should get this subdomain:
http://www.english.minedition.com

http://www.minedition.com/german/
should get this subdomain:
http://www.german.minedition.com

Is there something wrong?

Best wishes.
Herbert

P.S.: You have a great website with a perfect working search engine.
Is "Orange Mole" the best?
herberth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 06:29 AM   #6
vinyl-junkie
Purple Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally posted by herberth
I try to declare it - I’m not a native speaker:-).
No problem. Your English is fine.
Quote:
I have created 2 directories. All files are still in these directories.
(snip)
Is there something wrong?
No, nothing wrong at all. When your web host created those new subdomains, they created brand new folders for them on their server. What you have to do in order to render your web pages with a URL utilizing those new sub-folders is to move your web pages to those directories.

For example, let's say you have a page under your English section, like so:

http://www.minedition.com/english/mypage.php

When you move that to the new folder that your web host created for you, the new URL for this page will now be:

http://www.english.minedition.com/mypage.php

Hope this explains a little better what you need to do. As before, if you still have questions, feel free to ask.
Quote:
P.S.: You have a great website with a perfect working search engine.
Thanks.
Quote:
Is "Orange Mole" the best?
Um, I really don't know. Charter changed the member titles a couple of weeks ago, and I've been meaning to ask him about that. Perhaps he'll see this post and respond to that.

Last edited by vinyl-junkie; 04-02-2004 at 06:31 AM.
vinyl-junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 06:39 AM   #7
herberth
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
When I visit my webspace with my FTP Application, I can’t see any new folders.

When my web host has really created new folders and I ask him to move the webpages into these folders, then I can’t see them anymore.

It’s very curious.

Herbert
herberth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 07:16 AM   #8
vinyl-junkie
Purple Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 694
In that case, you might want to check with your web host to find out what happened. It's possible that they made a mistake when they moved the files for you. You might want to double-check first though and make sure they haven't just been moved to the wrong sub-folder or something.

Let us know how that turns out.
vinyl-junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 07:42 AM   #9
herberth
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Thank you.

I will do this.

Next week, I’m on holidays.

Have a nice time.
herberth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
index subdomains AllKnightAccess How-to Forum 3 09-26-2004 02:01 PM
digging subdomains b2l_grefix How-to Forum 6 05-10-2004 03:34 PM
Bug when spidering subdomains cybercox Bug Tracker 1 04-01-2004 12:48 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.