PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2003, 09:21 AM   #1
fziemke
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Swiss
Posts: 5
Question PHPDIG_DIR & cron task

documentation:
Quote:
#php -f [PHPDIG_DIR]/admin/spider.php http://host.mydomain.com

The [PHPDIG_DIR]/admin/spider.php can be launch by a cron task too, in order to auto update the index. The recommended periodicity is 7 days. The updated documents you want to see immediately in the searches can be updated manually.
Those pages can contain a "revisit-after" metatag with a short delay.
Two questions:

1.) What is PHPDIG_DIR in Windows ? I can't start this from DOS-Prompt.

I try:
"C:\php\php.exe -f D:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpdig\admin\spider.php http://host.mydomain.com"

(Error ...function not found). It seems it found no phpdig_functions.php.
(//test on cgi or http is in spider.php - Line 23 ff)

2.) If this works i will update my pages every night at 11pm. But recommended periodicity is 7 days ?? How can i index daily my new pages - this are 3 to 4 HTML-Pages generated by a content management system. I will not update this manually ??

Thanks
-Frank-
fziemke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 04:57 PM   #2
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. Is DOCROOT=D:\data\inetpub\wwwroot or DOCROOT=D:\inetpub\wwwroot? What version of PHP do you have? In 4.3.0 you can pass the directory and file names, but that may not work with previous versions.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 12:02 PM   #3
fziemke
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Swiss
Posts: 5
I have test today again:

PHP4 = C:\PHP
DOCRoot = D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web
PHPDig-Root = D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig

I call from DOS prompt!

C:\PHP>
php.exe -f "D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig\admin\spider.php" http://www.mydomain.ch
The instruction "renice" is either wrongly written or could not not be
found (linie 80).

<b>Fatal error</b>: Call to undefined function: phpdigprnmsg() in
<b>D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig\admin\spider.php</b> on line
<b>110</b><br />

C:\PHP> press space to continue...

I have Print "$relative_script_path"; = . (one Point) ?!

I have also Test:
php.exe -f "D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig\admin\spider.php http://www.mydomain.ch"
php.exe -f D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig\admin\spider.php http://www.mydomain.ch

Any hint ?
FRANK

Last edited by fziemke; 09-10-2003 at 12:05 PM.
fziemke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 07:51 AM   #4
fziemke
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Swiss
Posts: 5
Please can anyone post the complete CALL for WIN command line spider complete Site !??

Thanks
Frank
fziemke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 10:13 AM   #5
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Quote:
The instruction "renice" is either wrongly written or could not not be found (linie 80).
For the above, go to the renice line and try commenting it out.

Quote:
<b>Fatal error</b>: Call to undefined function: phpdigprnmsg() in <b>D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig\admin\spider.php</b> on line <b>110</b><br />
From the above error, this is what looks to be happening. The function phpdigPrnMsg is the first function called from the include files in spider.php and so the include files are not being found.

In the admin files, try $relative_script_path = '..'; (two dots) and leave $relative_script_path = '.'; (one dot) in the main search index file. One dot means go into the same directory, and two dots mean go back one directory.

If that doesn't work, try forcing the path by setting $relative_script_path = 'd:/InetPub/wwwroot/web/phpdig';

The win command you're using is working fine, as the fatal error happens when spider.php tries to call the phpdigPrnMsg function.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 08:25 AM   #6
fziemke
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Swiss
Posts: 5
Okay thanks. i tried this today - it works:

spider.php
- comment Line 80 // print @exec('renice 18 '.getmypid()).$br;
- add in Line 93: $relative_script_path = '..'; // two dot

CALL
php.exe -f "D:\InetPub\wwwroot\web\phpdig\admin\spider.php" http://www.mydomain.ch

Is this a windows related Bug ? Fixed in next Version possible ?

FRANK
fziemke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 09:16 AM   #7
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. I don't think they are bugs. My guess is that your machine doesn't have renice. The one dot versus two dots just indicates what directory to look in. Glad PhpDig is now working for you.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 08:16 PM   #8
David J Harmon
Orange Mole
 
David J Harmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Corbin KY
Posts: 45
I would like to know (I'm new to php) how would I run a cron in linux apache 1.3. I also new to crons. can I have them look up more than one url?

David
David J Harmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 05:13 PM   #9
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. An example can be found here.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Url part after &amp; is ignored on spider (1.8.9 RC1 and earliers) obottek Bug Tracker 1 08-24-2006 04:52 AM
How to schedule automatic spidering using windows schedule task utility joezeon How-to Forum 1 10-15-2005 08:23 AM
cron again xdaniel Bug Tracker 4 05-12-2005 07:33 AM
Problems with cron maskeret How-to Forum 0 01-23-2005 05:07 AM
cron problem Warmbells Troubleshooting 4 12-23-2004 05:33 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.