PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > External Binaries

Old 09-29-2003, 11:32 AM   #1
chazter
Green Mole

Search PDF files

Im a newbie at this and I am following the instructions per documentation but there is one part that I am not clear on
Quote:
3.3. File types wich can be indexed PhpDig indexes HTML and text files by itself.
PhpDig could index PDF, MS-Word and MS-Excel files if you install external binaries on the spidering machines to this purpose. PhpDig could index PDF, MS-Word and MS-Excel files if you install external binaries on the spidering machines to this purpose.
I dont understand the "PhpDig could index PDF, MS-Word and MS-Excel files if you install external binaries on the spidering machines to this purpose."

I have access of my files when I FTP to a directory that my webhost gives me, but as for adding external binaries, I am not sure.

All my pdf files are in a specific directory buy how does somebody search a particular pdf file?

If anyone can give me clarification or instructions on how to do this, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.
chazter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 04:54 PM   #2
Charter
Head Mole

Hi. External binaries are certain programs that your host may, or may not, have to convert PDF/DOC/XLS files to text files.

Here is a short list of such external binaries and their uses:

Code:
name         purpose
-----------------------------------
catdoc       convert DOC to TXT
pstotext     convert PS/PDF to TXT
pdftotext    convert PDF to TXT
xls2csv      convert XLS to CSV
If you know, or can find, the path to such external binaries from your host, then just use that path in the appropriate defintion in the config file.

If your host doesn't have such external binaries, or you cannot find the path, then you could FTP them to one of your directories, and then include that path in the appropriate defintion in the config file.