PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Script Installation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2003, 09:39 PM   #1
mpostle
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Unable to complete installation

I've been able to create the database using the install script but unable to populate the database with tables (using script). I've setup many other applications & scripts no problem, so I don't believe there is a server or requirements problem (but I could be wrong).

Is anyone else having this problem?

Is anyone able to provide assistance?

Many thanks,
Mike
mpostle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 07:19 AM   #2
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. In connect.php are the host, username, password, and database variables set correctly? Is the sql directory in the same place as the includes directory?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:17 AM   #3
mpostle
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
This is my connect.php:

define('PHPDIG_DB_PREFIX','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_HOST','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_USER','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_PASS','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_NAME','<edited>');

The file is initially named "_connect.php" and then is renamed to "connect.php", is that correct?

The sql and includes directories are in the root of phpdig directory.

The install script makes a connection and creates the database but not the tables. The browser then just times-out.
mpostle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:28 AM   #4
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Quote:
Originally posted by mpostle
The file is initially named "_connect.php" and then is renamed to "connect.php", is that correct?
Yep, that's correct.

Do you have phpMyAdmin? Can see if the script actually made the new database?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:55 AM   #5
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Also, in connect.php, find:
PHP Code:
@mysql_select_db(PHPDIG_DB_NAME,$id_connect); 
and replace with:
PHP Code:
if (!mysql_select_db(PHPDIG_DB_NAME,$id_connect)) {
     echo 
"Error: unable to select the database";
     exit();

Now when you try to create the tables, do you get the above error onscreen?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 04:48 PM   #6
jive
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
I'm having the same exact problem, and no the the database wasn't installed. (checked phpmyadmin)
jive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 07:23 PM   #7
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. Perhaps this thread might help.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time out? Indexing does not seem to complete tomcowle Troubleshooting 2 08-10-2004 06:20 PM
Unable to perform phpdig installation : help pki Script Installation 9 07-12-2004 09:36 PM
Indexing not complete cyberpunk71 Troubleshooting 1 09-24-2003 06:07 AM
Indexing not complete Phez Troubleshooting 1 09-12-2003 09:41 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.