PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > How-to Forum

Old 02-06-2004, 07:06 AM   #1
renehaentjens
Orange Mole

What's in a word for 1.8.0?

I'm just beginning with 1.8.0...

The doc states: "Characters '._~@#$:&%/;,=- now allowed in indexing and searches".

A first test seems to indicate that "word1;word2;word3;...", which was considered as separate words in 1.6.5, is now considered as one. Therefore I no longer find the page when searching word2. Moreover, as in my website the combination always grows beyond 30 characters, it is not indexed, which means that I cannot find the page when searching word1 either!

Is this indeed a changed behavior in 1.8.0? Why was it changed in this way? Is there a config parameter for it?

This has other "funny" impacts: if I have a phrase "... word1, word2 ..." in my webpage, I won't find it back with an exact phrase search "word1 word2", I have to search for "word1, word2", with the comma, to find it! (I've tested it.) Are you sure that this is what people expect as behaviour?
Old 02-06-2004, 10:03 AM   #2
Charter
Head Mole

Hi. A cool aspect of GNU/GPL software is that users get the source code free so they can change it to fit their individual needs. If you want to remove all or some of the ._~@#$:&%/;,=- characters, just do the following and then reindex.

In search_function find and modify the following as desired:

$what_query_chars = "[^".$phpdig_words_chars[PHPDIG_ENCODING]." \\'.\_~@#$:&\%/;,=-]+";

In phpdig_functions.php find and modify the following as desired:

$text = ereg_replace('[^'.$phpdig_words_chars[$encoding].' \\'._~@#$:&%/;,=-]+',' ',$text);

In robot_functions.php find and modify the following as desired:

if (strlen($key) > SMALL_WORDS_SIZE and strlen($key) <= MAX_WORDS_SIZE and !isset($common_words[$key]) and ereg('^['.$phpdig_words_chars[PHPDIG_ENCODING].'#$]',$key))