PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > How-to Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2004, 08:39 PM   #1
shamu
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Search page to search all domains & links generally

Hi, all,
I tested this phpDig and it really works great.
Thanks to Charter and the community.

Im wondering is there any way to make the search page to conduct the search generally (search all the sites that have been indexed - meaning different domains)?

I'm just wondering because I personally (as the user) do not know from which website I want to search something at first. Then after a couple of searches, then I can filter out some websites to search from.

Thanks so much.

shamu
shamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 11:20 PM   #2
shamu
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Sorry I already found the way to do it.

Now here comes the next question. How do you filter them by domain? (meaning to display 1 or 2 links from each domain) That way the result won't be so tedious.

Thanks again. This phpDig is really kewl...

shamu
shamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 12:11 PM   #3
shamu
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Hi, I modified the search query a little bit to filter it and it works great so far.
I separated my spidering engine from the webserver and it works more efficiently that way.

I have a question. What is that "weight" based upon? I see the code as count(weight) as weight. What I mean is the percentage sign on each search result record.

Once again thanks so much again guys.

shamu
shamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 04:54 AM   #4
jamison
Green Mole
 
jamison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
So how did you search all sites?

So far all I've found is in
file: lib/search_function.php
Line: 89
Change to: //$wheresite = "AND spider.site_id = $site ";

I'm not really sure how that will affect other things though.

Here is my test page with only 3 sites indexed. Search for "850"
http://www.pensacola.cc/search
__________________
Jamison White

Last edited by jamison; 10-27-2004 at 05:03 AM.
jamison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 09:43 AM   #5
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Why not simply set DISPLAY_DROPDOWN to false in the CONFIG file?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 02:55 PM   #6
jamison
Green Mole
 
jamison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Does that make it search all sites?
__________________
Jamison White
jamison is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bann URLs / Domains & Sponsored Links PL_90 Mod Requests 0 10-18-2007 05:23 AM
Spider & Search the Mirror, return results for Live stabilo How-to Forum 0 12-01-2005 07:27 AM
Search Engine / Directory Submittion Tools & Websites Paradoxic IPs, SEs, & UAs 0 04-10-2005 01:28 PM
Search box & Monitor resolution Dave A How-to Forum 2 01-25-2005 06:44 PM
Search on search results page not working bforsyth Troubleshooting 10 08-20-2004 10:35 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.