PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2004, 05:26 PM   #1
Wayne McBryde
Orange Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 34
indexing from command line with text file

I can reindex from the command line with no problem, but it will only reindex the sites allready in the database.
From shell and in the phpdig-admin folder, I enter:
"php -f spider.php cronlist.txt"
It will reindex the sites allready in the database but not the sites in the text file.
If I enter:
"php -f spider.php http://www.domain.com"
I get the same result.

PHP ver is 4.1.2

I also tried to setup the cron job but it's not working. However I would perfet to use the command line.
__________________
Wayne Mcbryde
http://LakeNormansWeb.com
We search all of Lake Norman!
Wayne McBryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 03:54 AM   #2
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. When you run php -f spider.php http://www.newdomain.com what output does PhpDig give?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 05:04 PM   #3
Wayne McBryde
Orange Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 34
The atached file (graphic) shows the command and output. When I enter php -f spider.php http://www.150cam.com
If I enter:
php -f spider.php all
or
php -f spider.php text_file.txt
or
php -f spider.php
or
php -f spider.php http://www.150cam.com
The result is the same. It will reindex the sites in the database but thats all.

If the graphic does not show up, it is at lakenormansweb.com/phpdig_index.jpg

Also Charter, I'm sorry I put this post in the wrong form.

Thanks for your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg phpdig_index.jpg (41.4 KB, 27 views)
__________________
Wayne Mcbryde
http://LakeNormansWeb.com
We search all of Lake Norman!
Wayne McBryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 12:47 PM   #4
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. Are you able to index that site via the browser interface? A test run via shell gave the following output. Curious. Maybe this is related to the FP issue experienced previously?
Code:
> php -f spider.php http://www.150cam.com
Spidering in progress...
-----------------------------
SITE : http://www.150cam.com/
Exclude paths :
- @NONE@
+1:http://www.150cam.com/
(time : 00:00:03)
+
level 1...
XDuplicate of an existing document
2:http://www.150cam.com/index.html
(time : 00:00:05)

No link in temporary table
links found : 2
Optimizing tables...
Indexing complete !
Don't worry about posting in the wrong forum. I've moved things around to differentiate between troubleshooting and how-tos.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 04:52 PM   #5
Wayne McBryde
Orange Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 34
No problems from the browser interface. This site and many more spidered on my main site. I have phpdig installed on 2 servers, 1 for production and 1 for testing. Spidering from the command line has the same problem on both. Both also have Front Page installed. I'll try to setup a site w/o Front Page and see what happens. Any ideas about what to try if Front Page does apear to be the problem?
__________________
Wayne Mcbryde
http://LakeNormansWeb.com
We search all of Lake Norman!
Wayne McBryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 06:27 PM   #6
Wayne McBryde
Orange Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 34
I setup a new site with a new domain name. I did not install Front Page. It has the same problem as the site with Front Page installed.
__________________
Wayne Mcbryde
http://LakeNormansWeb.com
We search all of Lake Norman!
Wayne McBryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 06:31 PM   #7
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. Are you getting any errors in your PHP logs when you try and index via shell? Also, can you post a link to your PHP info?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 07:35 PM   #8
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. Try setting register_argc_argv to On in the php.ini file.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 05:56 PM   #9
Wayne McBryde
Orange Mole
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 34
Charter,

Changing register_argc_argv to On in the php.ini file did the trick.

IT WORKS GREAT NOW!! THANKS
__________________
Wayne Mcbryde
http://LakeNormansWeb.com
We search all of Lake Norman!
Wayne McBryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
command line indexing that actually works carlaron Troubleshooting 0 11-06-2006 08:48 PM
command line exec() pulls wrong file (php as cgi?) kzant Troubleshooting 2 02-01-2005 07:14 AM
Command line vs. admin indexing wx3 Troubleshooting 8 09-08-2004 12:31 AM
Indexing by command line... Canadian How-to Forum 4 01-04-2004 06:44 PM
Indexing by command line interface Skop Troubleshooting 8 10-14-2003 02:23 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.