PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Script Installation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2005, 10:08 AM   #1
russh
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK / Worcestershire
Posts: 7
Blank screen with install.php

UNzipped, scp'd, chmodded, but a blank screen after running the install script.

system is;
Linux/kernel 2.4.21-27
Apache 2.0.46
MySQL 3.23.58
php 4.3.2

Uncommented the error reporting, but there's still a blank screen - and no error in the system error log either.

One wrinkle may be that the MySQL server is separate - and I'll have to amend any scripts to point to the non-localhost server.

Any clues as to how to get some response from phpdigs install.php script?

Russ
russh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 10:10 AM   #2
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
What version of PhpDig are you using? Do you allow cookies? BTW, you can set PHPDIG_DB_HOST to wherever.domain.com instead of say localhost in the connect.php file.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 10:15 AM   #3
russh
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK / Worcestershire
Posts: 7
Version 1.8.7 which looks to be the current stable release - but I could re-install an older version if needed?

Cookies are permitted..

Russ
russh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 10:19 AM   #4
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Version 1.8.7 is okay. Did you change the directory structure when you did the FTP?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 10:26 AM   #5
russh
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK / Worcestershire
Posts: 7
ftp'd everything across unchanged...
installed into a local folder called 'spider', added the full path to the config.php file;
/home/www.domainname.co.uk/www/html/spider

Must admit I transferred the files across with 'auto-detect' for the binary/ascii detection. Perhaps that's screwed up. Will delete & manually transfer the files.
russh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 10:27 AM   #6
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
After you re-FTP, if the problem persists, in install.php find:
Code:
include $relative_script_path.'/includes/config.php';
include $relative_script_path.'/libs/auth.php';
And replace with:
Code:
echo "A";
include $relative_script_path.'/includes/config.php';
echo "B";
include $relative_script_path.'/libs/auth.php';
echo "C";
What letters print onscreen when you call install.php from your browser?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 03:33 PM   #7
russh
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK / Worcestershire
Posts: 7
Hi, I only receive an 'A'
russh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 03:38 PM   #8
russh
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK / Worcestershire
Posts: 7
(slaps forehead)
...I realised after looking through the install.php, you need to set the relative_script_path in the install.php script as well as in the config.php

Okay - that one's fixed... now to see if the rest of it all runs smoothly :-)
russh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 03:55 PM   #9
russh
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK / Worcestershire
Posts: 7
I've seen (emperically) I need to amend the relative path variable in each php file for the package to work - it this truely the case?
russh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 05:04 PM   #10
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
> ...need to amend the relative path variable in each php file...

The only one that needs to be set is the one in the config file. The others are relative paths (one dot - stay in same direcotry, two dots - go back one directory). There is a long thead here that might give a hint as to why relative paths are not working on your machine.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2005, 02:36 PM   #11
russh
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK / Worcestershire
Posts: 7
Okay, gone right back to square one for this. What is the absolute minimum that needs to be amended in the configuration during a clean install of php dig in order for it to work? The installation instructions indicate that i shoudl eb able to install an untouched instance of phpdig and it'll work ... 'out of the box'
russh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 11:33 AM   #12
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
There are no changes required in the files to have PhpDig run right after a fresh default install. The problem in this thread was that for some reason, the OS/setup was not understanding relative paths. If after a fresh install, you still only receive 'A' onscreen, try uncommenting the following line in the config file.
Code:
  // echo "\n\nPath $relative_script_path not recognized!\n\n";
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blank page after install odyssee Script Installation 1 05-04-2006 06:50 AM
Empty index.php screen after install BebopBogo Troubleshooting 6 08-17-2004 10:14 PM
PHP Install? ergobob How-to Forum 3 07-09-2004 06:43 PM
search.php and blank screen gymsmoke Script Installation 1 04-04-2004 07:10 AM
missing index.php after install webUser Script Installation 8 02-27-2004 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.