PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Script Installation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2005, 02:58 PM   #1
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Cannot Log In

Hi,

I am in the process of installing PHPdig. I am at step 3.2.6 in the help file. Basically I am trying to log into my admin screen for the first time. Everytime i enter my user name and password, the login screen refreshes and i am left with both fields blank. No error message pops up. I believe i have installed everything correctly up to this point. I'm really new at all of this - i used dreamweaver to upload PHPdig. Please help ! Thanks.
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 04:01 PM   #2
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
You need to accept cookies, and usernames and passwords are case sensitive. Fixed?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 05:22 PM   #3
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Unfortunately, this did not fix the problem. I am using IE 6, I have cookies accepted, and I am typing the user names and passwords correctly. Any other ideas?
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 05:33 PM   #4
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Are you using v.1.8.7, and typing the username and password set in the config file?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 05:51 PM   #5
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
I am typing the username and password that I set in the config file and using 1.87. One thing I just realized is that the page does not refresh. I start my login process at /admin/install.php . When I enter my username and password, the page goes to /libs/auth.php . This new page looks identical to the login page at /admin/install.php . If i try to enter my username and password once again and hit enter, the /libs/auth.php page refreshes with the username and password fields blank. I feel as if i must be doing something wrong with the PHP; perhaps the way I uploaded it or the way my server is handling it?
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 05:57 PM   #6
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
What version of PHP are you using?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:01 PM   #7
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
My server is run by HostSave. They've got PHP 4.0.6 installed
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:02 PM   #8
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Okay, what version of PhpDig are you using?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:04 PM   #9
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
PhpDig v.1.8.7
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:06 PM   #10
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
It's a $_SERVER versus $HTTP_SERVER_VARS thing.
PHP Code:
// put this line at the beginning of the config file
$_SERVER $HTTP_SERVER_VARS
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:14 PM   #11
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
I'm sorry, that didn't seem to work either. I appreciate all your effort though
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:20 PM   #12
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Oops, I'm tired. Use this instead, first thing in config file...
Code:
if (version_compare(phpversion(), '4.1.0') == -1) {
   $_POST    = &$HTTP_POST_VARS;
   $_GET    = &$HTTP_GET_VARS;
   $_COOKIE  = &$HTTP_COOKIE_VARS;
   $_REQUEST = array_merge($HTTP_COOKIE_VARS, $HTTP_POST_VARS, $HTTP_GET_VARS);
}
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:25 PM   #13
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
i dont think the php server understood that version_compare bit... i got an error page stating:

Code:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: version_compare() in /nfs/-/-/-/-/-/-/phpdig/includes/config.php on line 2
(i hyphened out the absolute path in the error line up there for security reasons, but i'm sure you get the idea)
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:31 PM   #14
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Okay, don't use what I posted before, as I am tired and confused at the moment. Try just sticking this at the beginning of the config file:
Code:
// for use with PHP < 4.1.0 only
$_SERVER = &$HTTP_SERVER_VARS;
$_POST = &$HTTP_POST_VARS;
$_GET = &$HTTP_GET_VARS;
$_COOKIE = &$HTTP_COOKIE_VARS;
$_REQUEST = array_merge($HTTP_COOKIE_VARS, $HTTP_POST_VARS, $HTTP_GET_VARS);
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:35 PM   #15
tajmahal
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
I suppose one doesn't get all of those stars for being idle. IT WORKED! Thank you so much! You're awesome!
tajmahal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't log in to the admin Edomondo Script Installation 4 02-03-2005 09:35 AM
Que signifient certaines lignes du log - What is the meaning of some log lines philbihr How-to Forum 3 11-19-2004 04:31 PM
Dupliate entries in log? ChadK Bug Tracker 0 09-23-2004 11:55 AM
Server Log Oddity vinyl-junkie Troubleshooting 1 07-29-2004 10:17 AM
Log clicks alivin70 Mod Submissions 4 02-24-2004 01:24 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.