PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Script Installation

Old 04-12-2004, 01:57 AM   #1
steve45king
Green Mole

Unhappy the install and the "No link in temporary table" problem

Hi there!

I've just downloaded phpdig-1.8.0 and experienced massive problems installing it on my server. I was not able to install it via the admin.php interface, the error messages were something like "verify user rights" and so on...
the workaround was to create the database and the tables manually, as well as the config file.

So far, not so good.

Heading to admin/index.php resulted in the famous "No link in temporary table" problem. (is there a now a solution?)

As I'm very new to PHP and mySQL, I my thought was that I'm not experienced enough to install phpdig, despite the fact, many(?) other users in the forum experience the same problems.

Anyway... I moved to isearch, and the installation was a simple click-by-click thing... and, the crawling was functional too.

May I wait for the next release of phpdig!? ;-)

I think phpdig is really powerful, but the installation requires an professional PHP-guru.. :-)
steve45king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 06:37 AM   #2
vinyl-junkie
Purple Mole

Welcome to the forum, steve45king. We're glad to have you here.

You raise some interesting points in your post. Permit me to comment on just a few of them:
Quote:
the workaround was to create the database and the tables manually, as well as the config file.
I can't speak for everyone here, but I ended up having to create the database and tables manually myself. Whether you can do that through a script has more to do with the setup for you web host than phpDig, in my opinion.
Quote:
Heading to admin/index.php resulted in the famous "No link in temporary table" problem. (is there a now a solution?)