PhpDig.net

Go Back   PhpDig.net > PhpDig Forums > Mod Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2003, 06:38 PM   #1
123av
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
how to change user-agent ?

is it possible to create user-agent modification ?
i want that my phpdig present as something like 'my.domain.tld search engine' and phpdig spider search on robots.txt not for phpdig but for 'my.domain.tld'
123av is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 11:30 PM   #2
Rolandks
Purple Mole
 
Rolandks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kassel, Germany
Posts: 119
User-agent is hard-coded in: admin/robot_functions.php
Line 452
PHP Code:
   @ini_set('user_agent','PhpDig/'.PHPDIG_VERSION.' (PHP; MySql)'."\r\n".phpDigMakeCookies($cookiesToSend,$path)); 
and
Line 549 ff:

PHP Code:
function phpdigReadRobotsTxt($site)
.... 
-Roland-
Rolandks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 12:18 AM   #3
jerrywin5
Orange Mole
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48
I found the user agent defined in multiple places.

In admin/spider.php on line (approx.) 157

In libs/phpdig_functions on lines (approx.) 315, 384, 477, and 620

It would be nice if the user agent could be set from the config file as well as the URI for the robot information page.
jerrywin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 12:35 AM   #4
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. The GNU/GPL license, Version 2, does not require you to keep the PhpDig User-Agent link in the user agent, just reference in the package itself must stay for redistribution, but personally it would be nice if the user agent and link remained.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 01:53 AM   #5
unknown
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9
hi, when i spider my site awstats tell me "Unknown robot (identified by 'robot')"
have someone an idea where can i chance this in the script (robot_functions and spider have the correct user_agent)

when phpdig find an site awstats show the referrer "links from other websites (no search engine)"

Last edited by unknown; 04-08-2004 at 01:59 AM.
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004, 03:35 PM   #6
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. This is not a PhpDig specific issue. Rather, AWStats does not recognize PhpDig, like it would Google, other than to say it is an "Unknown robot (identified by 'robot')" because 'robot' is part of the user-agent for PhpDig. Same goes for the "links from other websites (no search engine)" message. If you want AWStats to show something else, you would need to edit the AWStats code.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004, 04:16 PM   #7
unknown
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9
hi, awstats known some more bots/crawler.
from my awstats:
Googlebot (Google)
MSNBot
Alexa (IA Archiver)
WISENutbot (Looksmart)
Fast-Webcrawler (AllTheWeb)
Inktomi Slurp
IBM_Planetwide
SurveyBot
Jeeves
Voila
LinkWalker
MSIECrawler

it is maybe that all stats-scripts can read the ident from phpdig?
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004, 06:47 PM   #8
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. PhpDig is not currently part of your AWStats detection capabilities so you would need to edit your AWStats code.


# AWSTATS ROBOTS DATABASE
#-------------------------------------------------------
# If you want to add robots to extend AWStats database detection capabilities,
# you must add an entry in RobotsSearchIDOrder_listx and RobotsHashIDLib.
#-------------------------------------------------------

# AWSTATS SEARCH ENGINES DATABASE
#-------------------------------------------------------
# If you want to add a Search Engine to extend AWStats database detection capabilities,
# you must add an entry in SearchEnginesSearchIDOrder and in SearchEnginesHashIDLib.
# An entry if known in SearchEnginesKnownUrl is also welcome.
#-------------------------------------------------------

__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2004, 01:44 AM   #9
unknown
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9
ah
now i understand
thx
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 08:31 AM   #10
tryangle
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Penns Woods
Posts: 17
Am I understanding this correctly?

Hi,

Quote:
# AWSTATS ROBOTS DATABASE
#-------------------------------------------------------
# If you want to add robots to extend AWStats database detection capabilities,
# you must add an entry in RobotsSearchIDOrder_listx and RobotsHashIDLib.
#-------------------------------------------------------

# AWSTATS SEARCH ENGINES DATABASE
#-------------------------------------------------------
# If you want to add a Search Engine to extend AWStats database detection capabilities,
# you must add an entry in SearchEnginesSearchIDOrder and in SearchEnginesHashIDLib.
# An entry if known in SearchEnginesKnownUrl is also welcome.
#-------------------------------------------------------
Is this how you go about "naming" the spider so it doesn't show up as "Unknown robot (identified by 'robot')" in the log files of the spidered sites?
tryangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 09:40 AM   #11
Charter
Head Mole
 
Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
Hi. Yes, check the top of the files in the AWStats library directory for more info. Also, there is an AWStats support form here with links to AWStats FAQ and documentation.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension.
Charter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 04:29 AM   #12
tryangle
Green Mole
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Penns Woods
Posts: 17
Smile Thank you Charter...

Thanks Again
tryangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change user-agent name Samar How-to Forum 1 08-14-2006 10:33 PM
Chaning name of user-agent? AllKnightAccess How-to Forum 6 11-30-2004 10:57 AM
um new user help mspmsp How-to Forum 1 09-16-2004 06:35 PM
User Titles Charter The Mole Hole 0 01-30-2004 10:55 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.