PhpDig.net

PhpDig.net (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Command Line entry and nothing happens (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1216)

aslan 08-25-2004 07:40 AM

Command Line entry and nothing happens
 
Read through a lot of posts so I have done the full path to both php and to the spider

/usr/bin/php -f /home/****/public_html/search2/admin/spider.php http://www.*****.com

And nothing happens just goes to the command prompt

So I logged it and the log is empty.

Any help/ideas/insight would be appreciated.

D~

Charter 08-25-2004 08:38 AM

Hi. You need to add /home/****/public_html/search2 to the first if statement in the config or cd to the admin directory and then /usr/bin/php -f spider.php for it to work.

WebDiva 2.0 08-27-2004 01:04 PM

I'm having same problems too.

I have puTTy to connect to SSH. I am in -jailshell-2.05b
my path is /home/webdiva/public_html/phpDig/admin/spider.php

When I do this:
php -f /home/webdiva/public_html/phpDig/admin/spider.php http://www.domain-to-index.com/

I get message saying "cannot connect to db check connection file"

The config file does have my correct db/user/pass
the first if statement does contain the absoulte path:
/home/webdiva/public_html/phpDig
(no trailing slash)

When doing: cd to /home/webdiva/public_html/phpDig/admin/
-jailshell-2.05b$ /usr/bin/php -f spider.php http://domain-to-index.com
-jailshell-2.05b Could not open input file: /usr/bin/php/home/webdiva/public_html/phpDig/admin/spider.php

So, I then chmod 755 spider.php and still no joy.

Any thoughts? suggestions, please?

aslan 08-27-2004 01:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Charter
Hi. You need to add /home/****/public_html/search2 to the first if statement in the config or cd to the admin directory and then /usr/bin/php -f spider.php for it to work.

This worked for me thanks

WebDiva 2.0 08-27-2004 02:54 PM

This is what lives in the first if statement of config file:
Code:

define('ABSOLUTE_SCRIPT_PATH','/home/webdiva/public_html/phpDig');
// full path up to but not including admin dir, no end slash

if ((!isset($relative_script_path)) || (($relative_script_path != "/home/webdiva/public_html/phpDig") &&
($relative_script_path != "..") && ($relative_script_path != ABSOLUTE_SCRIPT_PATH))) {
  // echo "\n\nPath not recognized!\n\n";
  exit();
}

I still get error msg saying "cannot connect to database check connection file"

Do you have any idea why this is? I'd really like to index "something" but even so far I cannot do that.

WebDiva 2.0 08-27-2004 03:00 PM

Oh, I did mean to add my web server is:
Apache version 1.3.31 (UNIX)
PHP version 4.3.8
MySQL version 4.0.20-standard

I am at using for my personal computer Windows '98.

I did buy also the search script from heathcosoft.com which too spiders from shell and this script did run just fine except for it does not obey well. You set for the script not to go outside of the domain you wish to index and it does go there anyway. It's not worth the $100 I paid for it.

WebDiva 2.0 08-27-2004 03:19 PM

I read this thread just now and it did give access to the mysql connect. It began to index the domain I placed there. Then gave an error msg saying it cannot create the file in /text_content/keepalive.txt

Does these files need chmod other than 644?


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001 - 2005, ThinkDing LLC. All Rights Reserved.