PDA

View Full Version : Is there anyway to get phpDig to search for both the keywords?


sid
09-24-2003, 03:23 AM
Hi,
I see that your PHP program indexes very well :-) but, when I search , It doesn't search for BOTH the keywords beside each other but searches for only 1 keyword. And sometimes gives me In-accurate results which in Mathematical Search terms is called Searching set in default "OR" instead of "AND" which searches for all the keywords that you enter.
I there anyway to fix this?????


Regards,
Sid

Rolandks
09-24-2003, 02:11 PM
Please post an word example here:

Search Test-page (http://www.phpdig.net/navigation.php?action=demo)

sid
09-24-2003, 06:15 PM
For example a search for "PhpDig Search" (without quotation) will not return with both words "PhpDig Search" but will only return with the word PhpDig...

Rolandks
09-25-2003, 02:04 AM
Hmm it returns both, but the ranking result is something wrong. Both words in Headline must have 100% because Words in the title can have a more important weight in ranking results.

.... 4. [20.97 %] PhpDig :: Web Spider and Search Engine ...

This must at Position 1 ?!

Ps.: I see that all words are all at the same Site. Try this:

Common Log Format

it returns all three words and higlight this.

sid
09-25-2003, 05:40 AM
How do you do that?

Charter
09-26-2003, 06:06 PM
Hi. This problem may be related to the one posted here (http://www.phpdig.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=81). I'll be working on it for a future release.

sid
10-17-2003, 07:56 PM
Similar problem, In the PhpDig demo, it highlights a search for Common log format, won't highlight all the 3 words beside each other, it will conly highlight common and format and log is in between them, it won't highlight that but, a search for the same query in the old PHPDIG site will hgihlight all 3 keywords beside each other, I have the same problem , but the old PHPDIG site doesn't, is there anyway to fix this????

Charter
10-17-2003, 09:25 PM
Hi. If you try this (http://www.phpdig.net/demo/search.php?query_string=Apache+Server+Frequently) using "words begin" or "any words part" is seems to highlight all the words. The "exact words" option looks like it needs more work. I'll be working on it for a future release.