View Full Version : Unable to complete installation
mpostle
09-18-2003, 09:39 PM
I've been able to create the database using the install script but unable to populate the database with tables (using script). I've setup many other applications & scripts no problem, so I don't believe there is a server or requirements problem (but I could be wrong).
Is anyone else having this problem?
Is anyone able to provide assistance?
Many thanks,
Mike
Charter
09-19-2003, 07:19 AM
Hi. In connect.php are the host, username, password, and database variables set correctly? Is the sql directory in the same place as the includes directory?
mpostle
09-19-2003, 10:17 AM
This is my connect.php:
define('PHPDIG_DB_PREFIX','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_HOST','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_USER','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_PASS','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_NAME','<edited>');
The file is initially named "_connect.php" and then is renamed to "connect.php", is that correct?
The sql and includes directories are in the root of phpdig directory.
The install script makes a connection and creates the database but not the tables. The browser then just times-out.
Charter
09-19-2003, 10:28 AM
Originally posted by mpostle
The file is initially named "_connect.php" and then is renamed to "connect.php", is that correct?
Yep, that's correct.
Do you have phpMyAdmin? Can see if the script actually made the new database?
Charter
09-19-2003, 10:55 AM
Also, in connect.php, find:
@mysql_select_db(PHPDIG_DB_NAME,$id_connect);
and replace with:
if (!mysql_select_db(PHPDIG_DB_NAME,$id_connect)) {
echo "Error: unable to select the database";
exit();
}
Now when you try to create the tables, do you get the above error onscreen?
I'm having the same exact problem, and no the the database wasn't installed. (checked phpmyadmin)
Charter
10-28-2003, 07:23 PM
Hi. Perhaps this (http://www.phpdig.net/showthread.php?threadid=136) thread might help.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.