PDA

View Full Version : Unable to complete installation


mpostle
09-18-2003, 10:39 PM
I've been able to create the database using the install script but unable to populate the database with tables (using script). I've setup many other applications & scripts no problem, so I don't believe there is a server or requirements problem (but I could be wrong).

Is anyone else having this problem?

Is anyone able to provide assistance?

Many thanks,
Mike

Charter
09-19-2003, 08:19 AM
Hi. In connect.php are the host, username, password, and database variables set correctly? Is the sql directory in the same place as the includes directory?

mpostle
09-19-2003, 11:17 AM
This is my connect.php:

define('PHPDIG_DB_PREFIX','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_HOST','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_USER','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_PASS','<edited>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_NAME','<edited>');

The file is initially named "_connect.php" and then is renamed to "connect.php", is that correct?

The sql and includes directories are in the root of phpdig directory.

The install script makes a connection and creates the database but not the tables. The browser then just times-out.

Charter
09-19-2003, 11:28 AM
Originally posted by mpostle
The file is initially named "_connect.php" and then is renamed to "connect.php", is that correct?

Yep, that's correct.

Do you have phpMyAdmin? Can see if the script actually made the new database?

Charter
09-19-2003, 11:55 AM
Also, in connect.php, find:

@mysql_select_db(PHPDIG_DB_NAME,$id_connect);

and replace with:

if (!mysql_select_db(PHPDIG_DB_NAME,$id_connect)) {
echo "Error: unable to select the database";
exit();
}

Now when you try to create the tables, do you get the above error onscreen?

jive
10-27-2003, 05:48 PM
I'm having the same exact problem, and no the the database wasn't installed. (checked phpmyadmin)

Charter
10-28-2003, 08:23 PM
Hi. Perhaps this (http://www.phpdig.net/showthread.php?threadid=136) thread might help.