PDA

View Full Version : Install did not work-Can't create database.


tams
03-13-2004, 09:51 AM
Hi,

installed and configured phpdig 1.8.0, but am getting the following error:

Install did not work- Can't create database.

Directories admin/temp, includes & text_content permissions set to 777.

Database holds the following tables: engine, excludes, keywords,logs, sites, spider & tempspider.

PHP Version 4.2.3
mysql 3.23.49
Linux infong 2.4.21

My _connect.php:

// Connection configuration
define('PHPDIG_DB_PREFIX','<dbprefix>');
define('PHPDIG_DB_HOST','db272.puretec.de');
define('PHPDIG_DB_USER','xxxxxx');
define('PHPDIG_DB_PASS','xxxxxx');
define('PHPDIG_DB_NAME','xxxxxx');

No special characters in my files.

Here are the Link to my phpinfo:

http://www.ihre-webhosting-domain.de/php/phpinfo.php (http://)


Many thx for help


T.

Charter
03-13-2004, 10:11 AM
Hi tams, and welcome to PhpDig.net!

define('PHPDIG_DB_PREFIX','<dbprefix>');

Try changing that to...

define('PHPDIG_DB_PREFIX','');

(two single quotes, no space inbetween)

tams
03-13-2004, 10:32 AM
Hi Charter,

thx for your quick reply,
i changed the prefix, but the same error:

Can't create database. Verify user's rights.

hmmm, i've no idea.....

tams

Konstantine
03-13-2004, 10:40 AM
Hi

Maybe your hosting disallow you to create databases.

If you already have database, then try just create tables.

tams
03-13-2004, 10:47 AM
yes maybe, i aktivated "Create tables only" and
get the same error...


thx for your support +
greetings from germany

Charter
03-13-2004, 10:59 AM
>> Database holds the following tables: engine, excludes, keywords,logs, sites, spider & tempspider.

Hi. Are the tables already in the database? If so, what happens when you call admin/index.php from your browser?

Konstantine
03-13-2004, 11:00 AM
I see,

Maybe you have another access to your database, phpmyadmin, for example, or shell ssh? You could create tables by your self.


What error did you get?

tams
03-13-2004, 11:13 AM
Hi Konstantine, thx for support.
I don't understand that, suddenly everything is fine.
think that was my fault, so sorry.

hmmmm i can spider my page, and get the message:

links found : 0
...Was recently indexed
Optimizing tables...
Indexing complete !

ok first i look in the forum to find a solution.
many thx and greetings from hamburg/germany


T.

Konstantine
03-13-2004, 11:18 AM
I had such error, it could be that the database and tables was already created and was an attempt to create again, that's why you could get that errors.

tams
03-13-2004, 11:24 AM
do you think that i should delete the tables in my database and
restart the installation with "Create tables only"?

t.

Konstantine
03-13-2004, 12:55 PM
no, of couse no :) I mean that was a problem. Installation is just creating tables and configure config.php, so you DON'T need to delete your tables :)