PDA

View Full Version : How do configure Apache?


slimjimb
12-11-2003, 09:03 AM
I would like to install PHPDig - but unfortuntately for me - the instruction for configuring Apache - I find a bit cryptic; I don't understand what I need to do - here are the instructions:

"Unzip the archive in a directory and configure Apache to serve it. (it will be named [PHPDIG_DIR] in the following) The engine did not need a dedicated VirtualHost to operate.
If PhpDig is installed on an Unix operating system server, set the file permissions to writable on the following directories, for the suid Apache server is running :


[PHPDIG_DIR]/text_content
[PHPDIG_DIR]/include
[PHPDIG_DIR]/admin/temp"

Does this mean I add the following lines to my apache.conf file:

[PHPDIG_DIR]/text_content
[PHPDIG_DIR]/include
[PHPDIG_DIR]/admin/temp"

and then chmod the directories so that they are writable by the Apache user?

What does 'for the suid Apache server is running' mean?

Sorry to be so stupid - your help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jim

Charter
12-11-2003, 09:26 AM
Hi. Just FTP over the following files and directory content, keeping the directory structure, to [PHPDIG_DIR].

admin/
includes/
libs/
locales/
phpdig_logo_2.png
phpdig_powered_2.png
search.php
sql/
templates/
text_content/
tpl_img/

Chmod the following to 777.

[PHPDIG_DIR]/text_content
[PHPDIG_DIR]/includes
[PHPDIG_DIR]/admin/temp

Now run http://www.domain.com/[PHPDIG_DIR]/admin/install.php from your browser.

slimjimb
12-11-2003, 09:39 AM
Originally posted by Charter
Hi. Just FTP over the following files and directory content, keeping the directory structure, to [PHPDIG_DIR].


Sorry I still don't understand - what is '[PHPDIG_DIR]'? Is it a variable? Is it the name of a directory?

Have I to create a directory and literally call it [PHPDIG_DIR]?

Or are you saying 'create a directory at your web site root, and call it anything you want - this becomes your PHPDig root directory (usually referred to as [PHPDIG_DIR])

Is that what you mean?

Thanks,
Jim

Charter
12-11-2003, 09:57 AM
Originally posted by slimjimb
Or are you saying 'create a directory at your web site root, and call it anything you want - this becomes your PHPDig root directory (usually referred to as [PHPDIG_DIR])

Yes, exactly. :)

slimjimb
12-11-2003, 01:37 PM
Originally posted by Charter
Yes, exactly. :)

Thanks, I'll give it a go.

Your help is appreciated.

All the best,
Ji