PDA

View Full Version : Per URL Catalogs?


fredh
11-16-2003, 02:25 PM
Hey all,

First off, I have to say that this piece of software is awesome! Excellent work!

Is it possible to have a catalog based on an exact url or is it only by site name at the moment?

The reason is that the site I am building comes in 3 languages and is 100% templated.

To change languages I pass a $_GET var to a page, ex: http://xxxxx/index.php?lang=en

This value is stored in a $_SESSION var and all future pages are rendered in the appropriate language. (default is en)

So, what I would like to do is have 3 search catalogs:
1. http://xxxx/index.php?lang=en
2. http://xxxx/index.php?lang=fr
3. http://xxxx/index.php?lang=es

Then, depending on the current language I can query the appropriate catalog for results.

Is this possible?

Charter
11-16-2003, 08:17 PM
Hi. I'm not quite sure what mods you've made, but perhaps use something like the following in the config file.

if (isset($_SESSION['lang'])) {
$lang = $_SESSION['lang'];
}

if ((!isset($phpdig_language)) || (($lang != 'en') && ($lang != 'fr') && ($lang != 'es'))) {
$phpdig_language = "en";
}
else {
$phpdig_language = $lang;
}

fredh
11-16-2003, 08:59 PM
Ah, no mods were made here :)

Your software was built well enough for me to instantly integrate it with my templating system (http://pear.php.net/package/HTML_Template_Xipe)


I'm just wondering what will happen on my site if someone using the french version makes a query. I would'nt want them to see english results and vice versa.

If there was a way to setup 3 different spiders, one for each language, I could query against the proper language.

The problem that I think I see here is that the spider only allows one set of results per domain name whereas my current setup uses the same domain name to serve 3 languages.

I think that my quickest solution at the moment will be to setup three 3rd level domains and spider each of them:

http://en.whatever.com (english)
http://es.whatever.com (spanish)
http://fr.whatever.com (french)

Charter
11-17-2003, 12:21 AM
Ah, I see and agree with three separate installs for what you're looking to do. :)