PDA

View Full Version : Blank screen with install.php


russh
04-17-2005, 09:08 AM
UNzipped, scp'd, chmodded, but a blank screen after running the install script.

system is;
Linux/kernel 2.4.21-27
Apache 2.0.46
MySQL 3.23.58
php 4.3.2

Uncommented the error reporting, but there's still a blank screen - and no error in the system error log either.

One wrinkle may be that the MySQL server is separate - and I'll have to amend any scripts to point to the non-localhost server.

Any clues as to how to get some response from phpdigs install.php script?

Russ

Charter
04-17-2005, 09:10 AM
What version of PhpDig are you using? Do you allow cookies? BTW, you can set PHPDIG_DB_HOST to wherever.domain.com instead of say localhost in the connect.php file.

russh
04-17-2005, 09:15 AM
Version 1.8.7 which looks to be the current stable release - but I could re-install an older version if needed?

Cookies are permitted..

Russ

Charter
04-17-2005, 09:19 AM
Version 1.8.7 is okay. Did you change the directory structure when you did the FTP?

russh
04-17-2005, 09:26 AM
ftp'd everything across unchanged...
installed into a local folder called 'spider', added the full path to the config.php file;
/home/www.domainname.co.uk/www/html/spider

Must admit I transferred the files across with 'auto-detect' for the binary/ascii detection. Perhaps that's screwed up. Will delete & manually transfer the files.

Charter
04-17-2005, 09:27 AM
After you re-FTP, if the problem persists, in install.php find:

include $relative_script_path.'/includes/config.php';
include $relative_script_path.'/libs/auth.php';

And replace with:

echo "A";
include $relative_script_path.'/includes/config.php';
echo "B";
include $relative_script_path.'/libs/auth.php';
echo "C";

What letters print onscreen when you call install.php from your browser?

russh
04-17-2005, 02:33 PM
Hi, I only receive an 'A'

russh
04-17-2005, 02:38 PM
(slaps forehead)
...I realised after looking through the install.php, you need to set the relative_script_path in the install.php script as well as in the config.php

Okay - that one's fixed... now to see if the rest of it all runs smoothly :-)

russh
04-17-2005, 02:55 PM
I've seen (emperically) I need to amend the relative path variable in each php file for the package to work - it this truely the case?

Charter
04-17-2005, 04:04 PM
> ...need to amend the relative path variable in each php file...

The only one that needs to be set is the one in the config file. The others are relative paths (one dot - stay in same direcotry, two dots - go back one directory). There is a long thead here (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1734) that might give a hint as to why relative paths are not working on your machine.

russh
05-07-2005, 01:36 PM
Okay, gone right back to square one for this. What is the absolute minimum that needs to be amended in the configuration during a clean install of php dig in order for it to work? The installation instructions indicate that i shoudl eb able to install an untouched instance of phpdig and it'll work ... 'out of the box'

Charter
05-10-2005, 10:33 AM
There are no changes required in the files to have PhpDig run right after a fresh default install. The problem in this (http://www.phpdig.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1734) thread was that for some reason, the OS/setup was not understanding relative paths. If after a fresh install, you still only receive 'A' onscreen, try uncommenting the following line in the config file.

// echo "\n\nPath $relative_script_path not recognized!\n\n";