View Full Version : Cannot re-connect to db

02-11-2005, 10:05 PM
Great script - thanks for all your efforts.

I got version version 1.8.7 going fine, except for lots of amp-raquo and amp-hash-1234 stuff.

I then decided I had to go for the UTF-8 version (1.8.8.-RC1) but could not install it becaue my mySQL is not the right version. So I wanted to go back to my working 1.8.7.

But now I cannot re-connect to the db - having quadruple checked the names of user, db, etc. and checked the connect.php settings which are (with the correct resplacement for &&& and ***, of course):

When going to search.php, I get "Unable to connect to database : Check the connection script.". I then went to admin/install.php to try to get it to "find" the db again (using either "update db" or "write only connection parameters" options).

I know that the script is working its way through install.php (which indicates that it is finding the db okay, right?? - otherwise it would give an error earlier in the script) and all makes sense until the line...
if ($cerror > 0) {
//clean partial installation
if (!$dbopt) {
// @mysql_drop_db($dbname,$id_connect);
$error .= phpdigMsg('error4');
$step = 1;
else {
It does enter the "if" section but does not kick error4 - and of course it does not go to /admin/, it just stays on the page install.php.

The parameters to be entered in install.php shoudl be exactly the same as those in connect.php, right? I had trouble first round getting these right and cannot quite remember what got me past this page.

Help please.

02-11-2005, 10:07 PM
Try taking out the < and > from the database configuration constants. ;)

02-11-2005, 11:03 PM
Oops - I meant to mention that I already tried removing "<" and ">" based on one of the other posts - but no joy... :squint:

02-11-2005, 11:20 PM
Unbelievable... I missed updating both connect.php and _connect.php... (blush)

All is okay now. Thanks for your help.

02-11-2005, 11:45 PM
Glad it's okay now, but the _connect.php file shouldn't be changed. It should be as the original because the install.php file uses the _connect.php file to configure/update the connect.php file.